Invitation au voyage

This Spring, Cellofest is coming back to the center of Helsinki for its second edition! Once again, seven days of concerts and masterclasses featuring young talented Finnish and international cellists as well as renowned performers.

In those unusual times, we hope to contribute to building bridges of culture, connecting us to different parts of the world as well as connecting us together, as human beings.

The traveler knows, that no matter what, no matter where one common thing that people are looking for is happiness.

So let’s cross the borders together and let the sound of music guide us towards new horizons, onboard a colorful cello journey

Monday 1.3.2021

MASTERCLASS with Jian Wang
15:30-18:30 Camerata, Music Center
Free entrance

19:00 Temppeliaukion kirkko

Erica Piccotti, cello
Martin Malmgren, piano
Giuseppe Martucci : 2 romances, op.72
Ludwig van Beethoven : Cello sonata No .3 in A major, op.69
Edvard Grieg : Cello sonata in A minor, op.36

Live streamed

Tuesday 2.3.2021

MASTERCLASS with Jian Wang
15:30-18:00 Camerata, Music Center

GALA CONCERT « The journey of the cello »
19:00 Sibelius Academy, Concert Hall, Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 9, 00100 Helsinki

Free entrance

Artist Gala

Sujari Britt, Jaani Helander, Lauri Kankkunen, Ola Karlsson, Laura Martin, Sirja Nironen, Lauri Rantamoijanen, Martti Rousi, Jian Wang : cello

Valeria Resjan : piano
Richard Wagner : Feierliches stück for cello quartet
Tara Valkonen : Solo No.2 « Anamnesis » (world premiere)
Alexander Scriabin : 2 poems op.32, arr. Piatigorsky
Sujari Britt : « No one’s driving » for solo cello
Sergei Rachmaninov : cello sonata in g minor op. 19, 3rd movement
David Popper : Elfentanz for solo piano, arr.Valeria Resjan
Alisson Kruusmaa : Spring of Hope for cello quartet (world premiere)
Johann Sebastian Bach : Suite No.1 in G major, Prelude, Sarabande, Courante
Aija Puurtinen : Witch & Sun my Faith

Wednesday 3.3.2021

MASTERCLASS with Ola Karlsson
« The great cello solos of the orchestra repertoire »
10:00-13:00 Sibelius Academy, Chamber Music Hall, Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 9, 00100 Helsinki
Free entrance

19:00 Camerata, Music Center

Senja Rummukainen, cello
Sirja Nironen, cello
Mariko Furukawa, piano
Valeria Resjan, piano
Joonas Kokkonen cello sonata
Franck Bridge cello sonata
Gian Carlo Menotti, Suite for two cellos and piano

Live streamed concert

Live streamed

Thursday 4.3 2021

MASTERCLASS with Ola Karlsson
15 :30-18:30 Camerata, Music Center

19:00 Putte’s Bar and Pizza, Kalevankatu 6, 00100 Helsinki
Cellomania : Jaani Helander & Lukas Stasevskij

How do ABBA’s Money, Money, Money and rock band Muse’s new hit Algorithm sound on two cellos?
Cellomania is an ensemble consisting of two Finnish top-class cellists. They play pop, rock, game music and film music in a dazzling way. Jaani Helander is a member of the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra and teaches cello at the Sibelius Academy, and Lukas Stasevskij is the founder and cellist of the Game Music Collective.
Come and witness the unleashing of true cello mania!

Free entrance

Friday 5.3 2021

MASTERCLASS with Martti Rousi
15:30-19:00 Camerata, Music Center
Free entrance

19:00, Turku Concert Hall

Live streamed concert

Alpesh Chauhan, conductor
Senja Rummukainen, cello
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra
Felix Mendelssohn: Ruy Blas Overture op. 95
Joonas Kokkonen: Cello Concerto
Johannes Brahms: Symphony no. 3 in F major op. 90

Book reservation

Saturday 6.3 2021

MASTERCLASS with Arto Noras
13:00-16:00 Camerata, Music Center
Free entrance

18:00 Sibelius Academy, Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 9, 00100 Helsinki

Sibelius Academy Chamber Orchestra
Antti Tikkanen, Leader
Senja Rummukainen, cello

Antonio Vivaldi : Concerto for strings and basso continuo in G minor RV 157
Jacques Offenbach : Les larmes de Jacqueline op. 76 No.2 for cello and string orchestra
Edward Grieg : Holberg Suite op. 40 for string orchestra
Carlo Graziani : Concerto for cello and orchestra in C major 

Link to the liveLink to the event

Sunday 7.3 2021

13:30 Café, Music Center
Kristian Reinilä, cello

Joseph Haydn: Divertimento in D major (arr. Piatigorsky)
Johannes Brahms:Sonata No.1 in E minor Op. 38, 2nd  Movement : Allegretto quasi Minuetto
Carl Davidoff: At the Fountain
Maria Morfin, cello
Franz Schubert: Sonata in A minor « Arpeggione » 1st Movement : Allegro moderato
Einojuhani Rautavaara: Sydämeni laulu
Gaspar Cassado: Danse of the Green Devil
Iiris Piri, cello
Jean Sibelius: Malinconia
Aulis Sallinen: Metamorfora (1974)
Edward Elgar: Salut d’Amour
Pianist: Valeria Resjan

Free to entrance

Thanks our Sponsors

An effective sponsor thank you letter is vital to build for the future.